DARK SNOOOPY

DARK SNOOOPY

He never had the idea of ​​sleeping on the roof of his niche, never had a philosophical discussion with Charlie Brown, nor even a little yellow bird constantly by his side. However, it is indeed from the dog created by Charles Schultz that he got his nickname.

Dark Snooopy. Like the evil counterpart of the white and black beagle. His dark face.

The one who first expressed himself in graffiti, when he was in high school, under the influence of a class neighbor who repainted his notebooks with blocks of letters in color, he was intoxicated with fumes of felt up to to take it too to the game. Loose sheets then walls and urban nocturnal expeditions, in detail or as a central figure in the graphic debates, the dog is always in the game. Dark Snooopy officially becomes his nickname, and even his signature.

A nickname who makes a quick passage in law studies to quickly redirect his pencils towards design and graphics. A course made of tunnels not always captivating but at the end of which was a light: calligraphy. This ancestral art of drawing letters, Dark Snooopy learns it at the same time as it learns to handle the different feathers, inks and paintings. To play with their fluidity to practice Gothic, English or oncial.

Letters and their outlines became his obsession and took the place of graffiti in his illegal outings. Bombs, brushes, markers, they are exposed in all ways on Parisian walls. Letters that even the most expert can never decipher: rather than styling them excessively, Dark Snooopy preferred to develop its own calligraphy. His own alphabet, the result of an extreme mixture of all the types of writing he studied, practiced and discovered for himself. Borrowing roundness, angles, dynamism or grandiose to merge them in its particular language.

A language in constant evolution, made of abstract calligraphies which in their forms arouse as many emotions as if they really had a meaning. Canvas, walls, happening, or digital, it is always expressed in a composite of reflection and spontaneity. Because, if Dark Snooopy has drawn in his mind the general sketch of his work, the calligraphic part is decided with the inspiration and the mood of the moment.

As under the action of an automatic writing, the forms are then filled with these chimerical letters that we sometimes swear familiar. In a color code where white remains the favorite color, these explorations of shades and gradations, each will have its own interpretation and the feeling of really being able to read words there. To decipher ideas or even suggested slogans.

Unless Dark Snooopy really slipped real bits of the alphabet ...


Buy Dark Snooopy artworks:

DARK

DARK

Il n’a jamais eu l’idée de dormir sur le toit de sa niche, jamais eu de discussion philosophique avec Charlie Brown, ni même de petit oiseau jaune constamment à ses côtés. Pourtant, c’est bien du chien créé par Charles Schultz qu’il tire son pseudo.

Dark. Comme le pendant maléfique du beagle blanc et noir. Sa face sombre.

Celle qui s’est d’abord exprimée par le graffiti, quand il était au lycée, sous l’influence d’un voisin de classe qui repeint ses cahiers de blocs de lettres en couleurs, il s’intoxique de vapeurs de feutres jusqu’à se prendre lui aussi au jeu. Feuilles volantes puis murs et expéditions nocturnes urbaines, en détail ou en personnage central des débats graphiques, le chien est à chaque fois de la partie. Dark devient officiellement son pseudo, et même sa signature.

Un pseudo qui fait un passage éclair dans des études de droit pour vite réorienter ses crayons vers le design et le graphisme. Un cursus fait de tunnels pas toujours captivants mais au bout d’un desquels se trouvait une lumière : la calligraphie. Cet art ancestral de dessiner les lettres, Dark l’apprend en même temps qu’il apprend à manier les différentes plumes, encres et peintures. A jouer avec leur fluidité pour pratiquer la gothique, l’anglaise ou l’oncial. 

Les lettres et leurs tracés deviennent son obsession et prennent la place du graffiti dans ses sorties illégales. Bombes, pinceaux, markers, elles s’exposent de toutes les manières sur les murs Parisiens. Des lettres que même le plus expert ne pourra jamais déchiffrer : plutôt que de les styliser à outrance, Dark a préféré développer sa propre calligraphie. Son propre alphabet, résultat d’un mélange extrême de tous les types d’écritures qu’il a étudiés, pratiqués et découverts de lui-même. Empruntant rondeur, angles, dynamisme ou grandiose pour les fusionner dans son langage particulier.

Un langage en évolution permanente, fait de calligraphies abstraites qui dans leurs formes suscitent autant d’émotions que si elles avaient réellement un sens. Toiles, murs, happening, ou numérique, il s’exprime toujours dans un composite de réflexion et de spontanéité. Car, si Dark a tracé dans son esprit le croquis général de son œuvre, la partie calligraphiée se décide avec l’inspiration et l’humeur du moment.

Comme sous l’action d’une écriture automatique, les formes se remplissent alors de ces lettres chimériques qu’on jurerait parfois familières. Dans un code couleur où le blanc reste la couleur favorite, ces explorations des nuances et des dégradés, chacun aura sa propre interprétation et la sensation de réellement pouvoir y lire des mots. D’y décrypter des idées voire des slogans suggérés.

A moins que Dark y ait réellement glissé de vraies bribes d’alphabet…

 


Acheter les oeuvres d'art de Dark :