Hate156 Allstarz

Hate156 Allstarz

Jose Colon, whose moniker is Hate156 was born in 1965 in Manati, Puerto Rico. He arrived in New York a few years later during the 1970s ongoing Puerto Rican migration to the United States. His parents settled in Fort Greene, an area of Brooklyn, which had a rich tradition in the arts but by the 1980s that creative ritual was replaced with a broken city full of crime and drugs. The only respite came when on occasion the young artist would take a ride on the New York City subway train to and from school. The subterranean mechanical steel that rode the city with their self imposed “larger than life” youth advertisement “was something out of a dream! It was in this menagerie of unpredictable “take back the city” creative attitude that enveloped my imagination” he would later say.

The names of Seen, PJay, Lee, Dondi and Zephyr were the Gods of "Graffiti" art culture that he and others wanted to emulate. Later he would meet “FliteTDS” in high school, who played a part in giving him his tag name “Hate.” After a few years of street bombing and tagging trains he would later run into some great Bronx and Manhattan Style-Writers. Rac-7 from the TNB Crew and Kyle and JonOne from the 156 Allstarz. Here’s where he would get most of his style and inspiration from. Later, Hate156 would join the United States Arm forces and was part of the first American forces forward deployed to the Persian Gulf war; to liberate Kuwait. He continued his service without a pause until the early 2000.

Today, Hate156 evolved from an early handwriting style to something eclectic, diverse and forward thinking, His self-titled style of “Graffuturism,” encompass elements from Architecture, Minimalism and Futurism. It is something that is not stagnant but flux. While it lies in the three-dimension it also cares about balance, design, space and colour. While his influences are Donald Judd, Louis Khan, Boccioni, and Richard Serra; his Spirituality is derived from Vulcan, PhaseII and Rammellzee.

His aim on “Graffiti” style-writing is to strip away its humble beginnings of the early more experimental phase of painted trains. The passages of misty blends and chaotic kitchen sink approach of painting is now placed with a more vigorous “futuristic” art and design methodology.



Buy artworks by Hate156 Allstarz:

Hate156 Allstarz

Hate156 Allstarz

Jose Colon, surnommé Hate156, est né en 1965 à Manati, Porto Rico. Il est arrivé au New York quelques années plus tard pendant la migration portoricaine continue des années 1970 vers les États-Unis. Ses parents se sont installés à Fort Greene, un quartier de Brooklyn, qui avait une riche tradition artistique, mais dans les années 1980, ce rituel créatif a été remplacé par une ville brisée pleine de crime et de drogue. Le seul répit est venu lorsque, à l'occasion, le jeune artiste prenait le métro de New York pour aller et revenir de l’école. L'acier mécanique souterrain qui sillonnait la ville avec ses publicités « plus grandes que natures » qu’il admirait « était d'un rêve ! ». C'est dans cette ménagerie d'attitude créative imprévisible de « reprendre la ville » qui a développé mon imagination », dira-t-il plus tard. 

Les noms de Seen, PJay, Lee, Dondi et Zephyr étaient les maitres de la culture Graffiti que lui et d'autres voulaient imiter. Plus tard, Hate a rencontré « FliteTDS » au lycée, qui a joué un rôle en lui donnant son nom de writter, «Hate». Après quelques années à recouvrir les wagons du métro, il rencontra et fera connaissance avec les grands writters du Bronx et de Manhattan, comme par exemple, Rac-7 du TNB Crew et Kyle et JonOne du 156 Allstarz. Voici d'où il tirerait maintenant l'essentiel de son style et de son inspiration. Plus tard, Hate156 rejoindra les forces armées des États-Unis et fera partie des premières forces américaines déployées pendant la première guerre du golfe pour libérer le Koweït. Il a continué son service sans interruption jusqu'au début des années 2000. 

Aujourd'hui, Hate156 a évolué d'un style précoce à quelque chose d'éclectique, diversifiée et avant-gardiste. Son style éponyme de « Graffuturisme » englobe des éléments de l'architecture, du minimalisme et du futurisme. C'est quelque chose qui ne stagne pas mais qui évolue. Bien qu'il réside dans les trois dimensions, il se soucie également de l'équilibre, du design, de l'espace et de la couleur. Alors que ses influences sont Donald Judd, Louis Khan, Boccioni et Richard Serra; sa spiritualité est dérivée de Vulcan, PhaseII et Rammellzee. 

Son but est de dépouiller ses graffitis de ses débuts lorsqu’il peignait sur les wagons. Les mélanges brumeux et chaotiques de peinture dans les éviers de cuisine sont maintenant remplacés par une méthode d'art et de design « futuriste » plus vigoureuse. 



Acheter les œuvres d’art de Hate156 Allstarz :