Jay Kaes

Jay Kaes

Jay Kaes is a Spanish multidisciplinary artist currently based in London. Characterised by a cosmopolitan spirit, he transits the luminous side of globalisation while dismantling its dark side: multiculturalism and the struggles for equality and freedom alternate with criticisms of hyper-control, consumerism and technological domination. In addition to mural artist, he is a photographer and designer.

Graduated in Fine Arts and specialised in audiovisual and photographic image by the University of the Basque Country, combines the speed and rebelliousness that involves a forged line in street art with the technical precision offered by the academy and experience. His mural paintings have injected life into neighbourhoods and local businesses around the world in the hand of a hip hop culture that seeks community empowerment from the arts. Jay Kaes is presently working on a creative process that focuses on the interrelation of art and technology. It is about the change of human beings due to technology and its exponential growth, and the art especially reflects the human ability to deal with these changes that affect the way we see ourselves as well as our vision of the future as a society.

"First, I learned to paint graffiti thanks to the experiences of previous generations. Now, I have a lot of respect for their language, and I incorporate what I have learned about technology as a tool to create something new from my time since nowadays many of our practices and interactions almost necessarily pass through a technological device. Therefore, this is part of our contemporary reality.” Jay Kaes

Buy artworks by Jay Kaes :

Jay Kaes

Jay Kaes

Jay Kaes est un artiste multidisciplinaire espagnol actuellement basé à Londres. Caractérisé par un esprit cosmopolite, il transite le côté lumineux de la mondialisation tout en démantelant son côté obscur: le multiculturalisme et les luttes pour l'égalité et la liberté alternent avec des critiques d'hyper-contrôle, de consommation et de domination technologique. En plus d’être artiste muraliste, il est photographe et designer.

Diplômé des Beaux-Arts et spécialisé en image audiovisuelle et photographique de l’université of the Basque Country, Jay allie la rapidité et la rébellion qu'implique une ligne forgée par la pratique et l’expérience du street art avec la précision technique offerte par ses études académiques. Ses fresques ont insufflé la vie dans les quartiers et les entreprises du monde entier. Jay Kaes travaille actuellement sur un processus créatif axé sur l'interrelation entre l'art et la technologie. Il s'agit du changement des êtres humains dû à la technologie et à sa croissance exponentielle, et l'art reflète surtout la capacité humaine à faire face à ces changements qui affectent la façon dont nous nous percevons ainsi que notre vision de l'avenir en tant que société.

« D'abord, j'ai appris à peindre des graffitis grâce aux expériences des générations précédentes. Maintenant, j'ai beaucoup de respect pour leur langage, et j'intègre ce que j'ai appris sur la technologie comme un outil pour créer quelque chose de nouveau. De nos jours, beaucoup de nos pratiques et interactions passent presque nécessairement par un dispositif technologique. Cela fait donc partie de notre réalité contemporaine. » Jay Kaes

Acheter les œuvres d’art de Jay Kaes :