Mahn kloix

Mahn kloix

Mahn Kloix was born in Paris in 1980. 

He has lived and worked in Marseille for ten years. 

Mahn Kloix grew up in a committed family, carried by the great struggles of the social left. And if activism hovers above his head, the young man will choose a path without a party, but just as militant: artistic creation. Now Mahn Kloix, the man travels, draws, begins to appear in public space. Established in Marseille since 2010, he made the old historic city his starting point for exploring the “political and struggling” Mediterranean basin. 

In the belly of Istanbul, he crosses paths with hundreds of young demonstrators. He then begins to sketch these faces of Protest, to then pay homage to them by displaying their portraits in the street. The uprisings of the jasmine revolution in Tunisia or the indignant movement in Athens will also constitute the raw material for a global project, which is then slowly taking shape: Small is big. A leitmotif to express and highlight the struggles, to reclaim the struggles.

His exploration of international “Contre-feu” earned Mahn Kloix the support of portrait painter Peter Hapak - reporter for Time Magazine -, of the daily La Marseillaise and of Vice Greece. In 2016, he invited the Zadist struggle to place Jean Jaurès in Marseille. Less than six months later, he co-signs the documentary film Femen, Retour à la rue.

Heir to a new free figuration, the artist also knows how to take more lyrical and aerial sideways. As with Man vs. Wild or a capsule like Shaza & Jimena, a large format portrait of two lovers who had to flee the disapproval of a father and escape Dubai. 

But it is in Marseille that Mahn Kloix deploys all his creative palette. As with his latest project, Demain c'est pas si loin: “Marseille is plural. It is made up of a disjointed urban landscape, of an unequal distribution of wealth. At the same time, Marseille is only one ”confides the artist. Tomorrow is not so far away is my vision of an urban whole, united in its differences. ” Witness of this ideal unit? “A child in suspension, caught between two worlds, who asks the question of his future. A city in full emancipation, the Marseille city will face colossal environmental and social challenges tomorrow. I like the idea of ​​being by his side at this crucial moment. ”

Text by Théophile Pillault.



Buy Mahn Kloix's artworks:

Mahn Kloix

Mahn Kloix

Mahn Kloix est né à Paris en 1980. 

Il vit et travaille à Marseille depuis dix ans. 

Mahn Kloix a grandi au sein d’une famille engagée, portée par les grands combats de la gauche sociale. Et si l’activisme plane au-dessus de sa tête, le jeune homme va, lui, choisir une voie sans parti, mais tout aussi militante : la création artistique. Devenu Mahn Kloix, l’homme voyage, dessine, commence à s’afficher dans l’espace public. Installé à Marseille depuis 2010, il fait de la vieille cité historique sa ville de départ à l’exploration du bassin méditerranéen “politique et en lutte”. 

Dans le ventre d’Istanbul, il croise le chemin de centaines de jeunes manifestants. Il se met alors à croquer ces visages de Protester, pour ensuite leur rendre hommage en affichant leurs portraits dans la rue. Les soulèvements de la révolution de jasmin en Tunisie ou le mouvement des indignés à Athènes constitueront également la matière brute à un projet global, qui se dessine alors lentement : Small is big. Un leitmotiv pour dire et mettre en lumière les luttes, se réapproprier les combats.

Son exploration de “Contre-feux” internationaux vaudra à Mahn Kloix le soutien du portraitiste Peter Hapak — reporter au Time Magazine —, du quotidien La Marseillaise ou de Vice Grèce. En 2016, il invite la lutte zadiste place Jean Jaurès à Marseille. Moins de six mois plus tard, il co-signe le film-documentaire Femen, Retour à la rue.

Héritier d’une nouvelle figuration libre, l’artiste sait également emprunter des chemins de traverse plus lyriques et aériens. Comme avec Man vs. Wild ou une capsule comme Shaza & Jimena, portrait grand format de deux amantes ayant dû fuir la désapprobation d'un père et s'échapper de Dubaï. 

Mais c’est à Marseille que Mahn Kloix déploie toute sa palette créative. Comme avec son dernier projet en date, Demain c’est pas si loin : “Marseille est plurielle. Elle se compose d’un paysage urbain décousu, d’une répartition de richesses inégale. Dans le même temps, Marseille n’est qu’une” confie l’artiste. Demain c’est pas si loin est ma vision d’un ensemble urbain, uni dans ses différences.” Témoin de cette unité idéale ? “Un enfant en suspension, pris entre deux-mondes, qui pose la question de son devenir. Ville en pleine émancipation, la cité phocéenne va faire face demain à des défis environnementaux et sociaux colossaux. J’aime l’idée d’être à ses côtés, en ce moment crucial.”

Texte de Théophile Pillault.



Acheter les œuvres d’art de Mahn Kloix :