Ramz

Ramz

From his childhood, RamZ (Ramzi Saibi) felt a real fascination for the arts and very quickly oriented himself towards the form of expression that suited him best: Arabic calligraphy, “image of the word”. This Franco-Tunisian artist learns the rules of this art with recognized masters such as Abdel Hamid Djouambi or Yassin Deradra. He also meets renowned calligraphers who will mark and influence him: Amor Jomni, Abdel Ghani Alani, Salah Moussawy, Hassan Massoudy and many others ...

RamZ is the author of contemporary Arabic calligraphy in the image of his dual culture, marked by multiple influences and who skillfully draws inspiration from tradition to tend towards novelty.

With a very modern and urban touch, the artist forges and sculpts shapes and symbols that interpret words. Is it a coincidence if in Arabic, the root of the first name "Ramzi" means "symbol"?

His works testify to the fusion between Arabic calligraphy and art contemporary, of the symbiosis between two cultures, between two worlds, East and West. He insists that each of us is able to read a calligraphy, even if you don't read Arabic.

“Over time, my works have become abstract because I no longer feel the need to be read, it is the language of individual sensitivity and free interpretation that advocates. When I discovered Arabic calligraphy, I could neither read nor write in the language and yet the attraction was omnipresent ”.

Reading a calligraphy is above all a journey of looking at through lines, angles, patterns and their arrangement.

 

Buy artworks by RAMZ:

RAMZ

RAMZ

Dès son enfance, RamZ (Ramzi Saibi) éprouve une réelle fascination pour les arts et s’oriente très rapidement vers la forme d’expression qui lui va le mieux : la calligraphie arabe, « image de la parole ». Cet artiste franco-tunisien apprend les règles de cet art avec des maîtres reconnus tels que Abdel Hamid Djouambi ou encore Yassin Deradra. Il fait également la rencontre de calligraphes de grande renommée qui le marqueront et l’influenceront : Amor Jomni, Abdel Ghani Alani, Salah Moussawy, Hassan Massoudy et bien d’autres encore...

RamZ est l’auteur d’une calligraphie arabe contemporaine à l’image de sa double culture, marquée par de multiples influences et qui, habilement, s’inspire de la tradition pour tendre vers la nouveauté.

Avec une touche très moderne et urbaine, l’artiste forge et sculpte des formes et des symboles qui interprètent des mots. Est-ce un hasard si en arabe, la racine du prénom « Ramzi » signifie « symbole » ?

Ses œuvres témoignent de la fusion entre calligraphie arabe et art contemporain, de la symbiose entre deux cultures, entre deux mondes, Orient et Occident. Il insiste sur le fait que chacun de nous est capable de lire une calligraphie, même si on ne lit pas l’arabe.

« Au fil du temps, mes œuvres sont devenues abstraites car je n’éprouve plus le besoin d’être lu, c'est le langage de la sensibilité de chacun et de la libre interprétation qui prône. Lorsque j'ai découvert la calligraphie arabe, je ne savais ni lire, ni écrire dans la langue et pourtant l'attraction était omniprésente ».

La lecture d’une calligraphie est avant tout un parcours du regard à travers les lignes, les angles, les motifs et leur agencement.

 

Acheter les œuvres d’art de RAMZ :