Veneno

Veneno

Veneno is originally from Brittany but lived for many years in the city of Nantes. She started graffiti in 2006. This discipline allows her to travel around the world.
She will be invited by the association "Tchapoulines" to give graffiti workshops to young people from disadvantaged backgrounds in a slum in Mexico in 2015. Then participates in various festivals in Africa: Senegal, Benin and Morocco ... 

Veneno generally paints with very few colors and very often with only gold and black. This allows him to play with the natural light brought by the sun's rays when they are reflected on his graffiti and thus give them another dimension.
Its crew: NCB, IBS (France) and CNN199 (Belgium).

Its style is easily recognizable thanks to the multitude of details represented as well as the use of the technique of "cross-hatching" recalling the art of engraving. It consists in constructing your illustration using cross-hatching in order to produce a half-tone and thus give it depth or volumes. 

This multidisciplinary artist began engraving on linoleum and on wood upon her return from Mexico in 2015. A country that inspired her enormously and with which she fell in love. His prints are inspired by Mexican culture and moments lived there. She represents in her engravings: the world of Mexican gangs, portraits of natives and emblematic festivals that she interprets in her own way. 

Today she is returning to France after having lived for 3 years in Oaxaca de Juarez in the state of Oaxaca in Mexico.
Veneno also worked for two years with the inmates of the Oaxaca prison for men and the workshop located in the heart of the Santa Maria de Ixcotel “Taller Grafica Siqueiros” prison. 

She gave engraving lessons there and developed an exhibition project.

The “Proyecto Vándalo” carried out with 17 prisoners in five months. The artist wanted to combine his passions for graffiti and engraving in one and the same project. In all, 80 pieces were exhibited. For 5 months, Veneno and the artist  Cristofer Diaz went to the prison every Thursday to work on this project with the inmates. The inauguration of the exhibition took place on June 08, 2019 within the prison itself and was subsequently exhibited in the "Espacio ZAPATA" gallery in Oaxaca de Juarez, Mexico.

The illustrations of Veneno very often represent wild animals or humanized animals in the world of Hip Hop.
Along with graffiti and printmaking, Veneno also uses the art of crochet to customize and create iconic objects of the Hip-hop movement that she covers entirely in wool. She thus crocheted a ghetto blaster (Radio cassette), a vinyl turntable, Sneakers shoes, mixtapes, vinyls, spray paint for graffiti etc.
She then created several series: "Sweet Vandal", "Sweet Gangsta", "Sweet Hip Hop Music".
His concept consists of diverting Hip Hop objects or sometimes from a violent universe in order to give them a less raw appearance and to create a contrast to make them more girly thanks to this grandmother's technique. It is also a way of preserving objects over time and of freezing them in wool. Veneno gives them a second life in his own way.


Buy Veneno's artworks:

Veneno

Veneno

Veneno est originaire de Bretagne mais a vécu de nombreuses années dans la ville de Nantes. Elle commence le graffiti en 2006. Cette discipline lui permet de voyager à travers le monde entier.
Elle sera invitée par l’association « Tchapoulines » à donner des ateliers graffitis à des jeunes de milieux défavorisés dans un bidonville au Mexique en 2015. Puis participe à divers festivals en Afrique : Sénégal, au Bénin et Maroc... 

Veneno peint généralement avec très peu de couleurs et très souvent avec uniquement du doré et du noir. Cela lui permet de jouer avec la luminosité naturelle qu'apporte les rayons du soleil lorsqu'ils se reflètent sur ses graffitis et de leur donner ainsi une autre dimension.
Ses crew : NCB , IBS (France) et CNN199 (Belgique).

Son style est facilement reconnaissable grâce à la multitude de détails représentés ainsi que l'utilisation de la technique du "cross-hatching" rappelant l'art de la gravure. Elle consiste à construire son illustration à l'aide de hachures qui vont se croiser afin de produire une demi-teinte et de lui donner ainsi une profondeur ou des volumes. 

Cette artiste pluridisciplinaire débute la gravure sur linoléum et sur bois à son retour du Mexique en 2015. Un pays qui l'inspire énormément et dont elle est tombée amoureuse. Ses gravures s’inspirent de la culture mexicaine et de moments vécus là-bas. Elle représente dans ses gravures : l’univers des gangs mexicains, portraits d’indigènes et fêtes emblématiques qu’elle interprète à sa manière. 

Aujourd'hui elle revient en France après avoir vécu 3 ans à Oaxaca de Juarez dans l'état de Oaxaca au Mexique.
Veneno a travaillé également pendant deux ans avec les détenus de la prison pour homme de Oaxaca et l’atelier se trouvant au coeur de la prison Santa Maria de Ixcotel «Taller Grafica Siqueiros». 

Elle y a donné des cours de gravure et y a élaboré un projet d'exposition.

Le «Proyecto Vándalo» réalisé avec 17 détenus en cinq mois. L’artiste a souhaité combiner ses passions pour le graffiti et la gravure en un seul et même projet. En tout, 80 pièces ont été exposées. Durant 5 mois, Veneno et l’artiste  Cristofer Diaz se sont rendus tous les jeudis dans la prison pour travailler sur ce projet avec les détenus. L'inauguration de l'exposition eu lieu le 08 juin 2019 au sein même de la prison et fût par la suite exposée dans la galerie "Espacio ZAPATA" à Oaxaca de Juarez au Mexique.

Les illustrations de Veneno représentent très souvent des animaux sauvages ou des animaux humanisés dans le milieu du Hip Hop.
Parallèlement au graffiti et à la gravure, Veneno utilise également l'art du crochet pour customiser et créer des objets emblématiques du mouvement Hip-hop qu’elle recouvre entièrement de laine. Elle a ainsi customisé au crochet un ghetto blaster (Radio cassette), une platine vinyle, des chaussures Sneakers, des mixtapes, vinyles, bombes de peinture pour graffiti etc.
Elle créée alors plusieurs séries : « Sweet Vandal », « Sweet Gangsta », « Sweet Hip Hop Music ».
Son concept consiste à détourner des objets Hip Hop ou parfois issus d’un univers violent afin de leur donner un aspect moins brut et de créer un contraste pour les rendre plus girly grâce à cette technique de grand-mère. C’est également une manière de conserver des objets à travers le temps et de les figer dans la laine. Veneno leur donne une seconde vie à sa manière.


Acheter les œuvres d’art de Veneno :