Yosh

Yosh

Yosh is a Paris-based artist and illustrator. As a child, he wasn’t really into studying and preferred sitting in the back of the classroom where he drew all day long as if to escape his uneventful existence. Later as a teenager, he got influenced by the US hip-hop culture and started growing an interest in graffiti. The streets became his playground.

Self-taught and inspired by artists such as Di Rosa, Miro, and Miyazaki, he has developed over the years a unique style where one can observe intertwined joyful creatures saturating numerous surfaces. With his daring use of bold colors, his work stages characters whose round and comical shape seem to have blended on our city walls. Through his minimalist yet hyper-colorful work, the artist shares an overall cheerful and vibrant vision of his imaginary world while questioning society and the world around us.

Inspired by Modest Art and Free Figuration, his work is intuitive, ever-evolving, and devoid of certainty. Yosh's optimism is genuinely contagious and is a reminder that creativity can come even in the most unexpected places.

Thus he has collaborated in various projects, including with restaurant chain Côté Sushi (2020), cosmetics brands Kiehl’s and Clarins (2012), Ibis Hotel chain (2018), and fashion label Swear (2015).

Exhibitions :

Espace Stillmuzik (Paris, 2009)
Jam, International Urban Art Exhibition (Paris, 2010) - Studio 55, Urban Arts Gallery (Paris, 2010)
Kube Hotel (Paris, 2010)
Arteum (Paris, 2010)
Castle of Saint Cirq-Lapopie (2011)
Living Room (Paris, 2012)
French Californians (Paris, 2012)
Entrepôt Gallery (Paris, 2012)
Crazy Crisis I (Paris, 2012)
Crazy Crisis II (Paris, 2013)
104 (Paris, 2013)
Urban Paris (Paris, 2014)
Montana Cafe, (Barcelona, 2019)



Buy artworks by Yosh :

Yosh

Yosh

Yosh est un artiste peintre et illustrateur basé à Paris. Jeune garçon, il n’aime pas beaucoup l’école et dessine à longueur de journées au fond de la classe comme pour échapper à son quotidien. A l’adolescence, influencé par la veine hip-hop débarquée des Etats-Unis, il découvre le graffiti et la rue devient son aire de jeux.

Inspiré par des artistes tels que Di Rosa, Miro et Miyazaki, cet autodidacte développe un style unique où de curieuses créatures se mélangent et saturent les divers supports sur lesquels elles sont apposées. Associant avec une audace certaine les couleurs primaires, il met en scène ses personnages dont les formes simplistes et naïves semblent plaquées en deux dimensions sur les murs de notre espace urbain. Par ce dessin minimaliste mais hyper-coloré, l’artiste donne à l’ensemble une vision gaie et dynamique de son univers et fait aussi passer des questionnements sur la société et le monde qui nous entoure.

Partisan de l’ art modeste et de la figuration libre , son travail est instinctif, évolutif et dénué de certitudes. Les “ good vibes ” de Yosh énergisent et nous rappellent que la créativité peut se manifester même dans les endroits les plus inattendus.

Il collabore ainsi avec l’enseigne foodie Côté Sushi (2020), mais aussi avec des marques de mode et de cosmétiques (Swear en 2012, Kiehl's et Clarins en 2018) et la chaîne hôtelière Ibis (2015).

Expositions : 

Espace Stillmuzik (Paris, 2009)
Jam, Exposition d'art urbain international (Paris, 2010) - Studio 55, Urban Arts Gallery (Paris, 2010)
Kube Hotel (Paris, 2010)
Arteum (Paris, 2010)
Château de Saint Cirq-Lapopie (2011)
Living Room (Paris, 2012)
French Californians (Paris, 2012)
Galerie de l'Entrepôt (Paris, 2012)
Crazy Crisis I (Paris, 2012)
Crazy Crisis II (Paris, 2013)
104 (Paris, 2013)
Le Paris Urbain (Paris, 2014)
Montana Cafe, (Barcelone, 2019)



Acheter les œuvres d’art de Yosh :